Author Topic: Advice on routes....  (Read 451 times)

Offline rh_scotland

• Yamaha XT1200Z
Advice on routes....
« on: April 08, 2019, 09:32:58 AM »
Hi I am RH and I am a MAP ADDICT

But, there is a bit of a gap in my knowledge of roads, things to see, places not to be missed.

I am leaving Applecross and will finish the day at Braemar.

Taking the coast road to Shieldaig (one of my absolute favourites) and on to Kinlochewe then over to Garve.

What I am after are roads/routes from Inverness in the general direction of Burghead, Lossie and then down towards the distilleries of Dufftown, Aberlour etc.  Ultimately coming down to the junction at Colnabaichin and on down to Braemar.

East of the A939 I have very little knowledge.

Any suggested roads that cant be missed, amazing views, coffee stops, biker friendly grub stops (doesnt need to be fancy, square in a roll or egg banjo more than suitable) or a general route leading to Braemar, would be warmly welcomed.

TIA
Not all who wander are lost...

Offline LargeWayRound

• Administrator
  • Forum Owner / Transalp Modifier / Founding Member
Re: Advice on routes....
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2019, 10:12:20 AM »
Fire Station Cafe at Tomintool is biker friendly and food is ok , coffee is instant . A bit overpriced as well .

Better holding on and stopping off at Goodbrand & Ross which is situated in Corgaff after taking in the views crossing the Lecht.
Coffee is proper espresso machine and bacon rolls are very good , inside or outside seating and gift shop.
We usually go there they are friendly to bikers as well .

Then keep following the A939 over the Gairnsheil Bridge at the bridge take the turn off to Braemar A976 over the hill . (Awesome views from the top)

When in Braemar head through the village and take the past the shops etc and take the small road to Linn of Dee .
Dead end road but some lovely views along the road .